Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Jun 30, 2021 in FBA | 0 comments

Effective July 1, 2021

It may have come down to the last day, but our Governor officially signed into law CS/SB 950. The effective date for this law is July 1, 2021. It is FBA’s intention to share with you in-depth highlights from this new law throughout July, starting with a brief overview from our very own Advisory Board member, Chris Burns. Chris shared this information earlier today:

An important bicycle and pedestrian safety bill was unanimously passed by the Florida Senate and House in its recent session ending at the end of April. The bill was signed into law yesterday by Governor DeSantis. It goes into effect tomorrow, July 1, 2021. Here is a brief summary of the important provisions:

Now motorists MUST obey the 3 feet passing law
If a motorist cannot give 3 feet when passing, then the motorist must stay behind the cyclist until passing with at least 3 feet is possible.  Law enforcement previously complained about the difficulty in enforcing the 3 feet passing law.  This law improves enforcement.    

Motorists CAN cross the center lane in a no-passing zone to safely pass a cyclist.
The law makes it legal for a motorist to briefly and safely cross the center lane in a no-passing zone, in order to pass a cyclist by 3 feet.  Previously, it was confusing as to whether motorists could cross a double yellow line to pass a cyclist.  Now it is clear that they can, rather than passing dangerously within 3 feet.

Motorists CANNOT turn right in front of a cyclist within 20 feet of any intersection.
The law states that a motorist, who is going in the same direction as a cyclist, may not make a right turn if the cyclist is within 20 feet of this intersection.  This is designed safety provision to prevent “right hook” crashes by cyclists.

Bicyclists SHOULD use the left lane before making a left turn.
The law clarifies that bicyclists should use the left lane for motor vehicle traffic before attempting to make a left turn at an intersection.

Group riders should cross intersections with stop signs in groups of 10 or less. 
The law describes how cyclists should handle stop signs when participating in a group ride.  The law says that after coming to a complete stop, bicyclists can proceed through the intersection in a group of 10 or less at a time.  Vehicles must allow the group of 10 or less to get through the intersection before the vehicle moves forward. 

Thank you, Chris!

What’s your cycling story? Is it in the Messenger? Our quarterly Messenger newsletter is available online for your internet reading pleasure, just visit the FBA website Home page .  Want a hard copy of our Messenger? FBA members have the Messenger delivered to their door every quarter.  Join Florida Bicycle Association or visit one of our bicycle shop members to pick up a copy and use the membership form inside to join!

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.